National Unmanned Aircraft SystemsUAS Project Office

About Us

The U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) National Unmanned Aircraft Systems (UAS) Project Office (NUPO) was established on May 8, 2008 to coordinate the adoption of UAS data collection into the scientific, monitoring, and resource management functions of the Department of the Interior (DOI). Specifically, the NUPO strives to:

The NUPO is also become part of an energized, active collaborative team working across DOI bureaus like BLM, NPS, the Office of Aviation Services (OAS) and others, as well as the FAA, National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), U.S. Forest Service, academia and private industry.

The NUPO provides:
Contact Us
Email: uas@usgs.gov
Phone: 303-236-1308
Fax: 303-236-5349

Business hours:
Monday-Friday
8am to 5pm MDT
Excluding U.S. holidays

Mailing Address:
U.S. Geological Survey
GEC Science Center
P.O. Box 25046, DFC
MS 980
Lakewood, CO 80225

Physical Address:
Denver Federal Center
(Corner of Kipling & 6th Avenue)
Building 25, Entrance S-8
Lakewood, CO

Our Team

Jeff Sloan

Jeff Sloan
Team Lead & Data Analysis
Phone: 303-236-1308
Email: jlsloan@usgs.gov

Mark Bauer

Mark Bauer
Mission Operator & Data Analysis
Phone: 303-236-1247
Email: mabauer@usgs.gov

Todd Burton

Todd Burton
Mission Operator & Data Anaylsis
Phone: 303-236-1302
Email: tburton@usgs.gov

Joe Adams

Joe Adams
Mission Operator & Data Management
Phone: 303-236-2906
Email: jdadams@usgs.gov

Jill Cress

Jill Cress
Project & Web Manager
Phone: 303-236-1248
Email: jjcress@usgs.gov

Victoria Scholl

Victoria Scholl
Field Assistant & Data Analysis
USGS
Phone: 303-236-9228
Email: vscholl@usgs.gov

Bill Christiansen

Bill Christiansen
National Aviation Manager
USGS
Phone: 303-236-5513
Email: wdchrist@usgs.gov